March Focus of the Month: Get my Sh*t organized

Happy March! What do you mean it’s March 10?

Although we’re already 1.5 weeks into the month, I want to outline my March Focus of the Month: Getting my Sh*t Organized.

The brutal winter weather has turned our house into a hoarder’s nightmare, forcing me to continuously stuff junk in every corner and drawer in this house.

Evidence:

My Kitchen Monica Drawer.

My Kitchen Monica Drawer.

DSC_0995

Our Basement of Doom

DSC_0996

The home office closet.

Then, there’s my email inbox. It looks like a list created by a maniacal four-year-old looking to create havoc in the internet world.

Then, there’s my house cleaning schedule, which is essentially non-existent. We had company come up to visit this weekend, and all I can say is I’m grateful for my son’s extremely rare three-hour-long nap, which allowed me to get the house in presentable fashion. I’ve gotten into a bad habit of skipping household chores and doing the basics. I then turn into a crazy crazier person and spend hours trying to bring the place back into order.

In other words, March is going to be a household/email/life organization month. I’m going to find ways to better organize the house and my home office, and I’ll present some tips and finds along the way.

Last week I went to the library and signed out this book:

DSC_0997

It’s a good book in that it provides you with quick tips on organization in every area of your life, but it’s a little much. If you took every piece of advice offered in the book, you’d be overwhelmed with life. And then you’d probably have to eat a row of Oreo cookies to feel better.

Here are five tips I took from the book that I will try to implement this month:

1. Make your bed every morning: this quick, one-minute effort will eliminate a piece of clutter from your life. It will also divert the dog from sleeping directly on my pillow during work hours.

2. Use the “clock” technique: Stand at the entrance of the room and designate a spot as twelve o’clock. Then start working your way around the face of the clock. This is a good tip to help me stay focused. Otherwise, my house-cleaning technique looks like I’m working in a time machine.

3. Put housework on your schedule. Spell out what tasks need to be done weekly,and write down those chores or times when completing them in convenient for you. There are a lot of people who do one household chore a day. For instance: Mondays are for vacuuming, Tuesdays are bathrooms, Wednesdays are dusting, etc. I’m going to try to put together a daily schedule and see if it helps.

4. Dust light fixtures. Holy, Steve Eurkel, this is long overdue. Just ask the ladybugs stuck to the lights.

5. Use discipline. Deal with e-mail messages once. I always have my email inbox open, which is a constant distraction from getting project work done.

*

What’s a tip that you feel helps you out when running a household or home office?

Leave a Reply

