Quick 20-Minute Workouts

Quick! Workout!

Or…sip on a glass of wine while staring at Pinterest recipes with Breaking Bad playing in the background. Mmmm….wine.

We’re all short on time but we’re also time wasters. Okay, I’m a time waster. For example, I’m wasting your time right now.

Lately I’ve been hammering out quick workouts and even if it isn’t a power-hour workout session, I’m happy to sneak in some exercise between dodging baby vomit and cleaning up phone interviews. I’m also really tired.

P.S. I’ve tried re-writing this blog several times now and I have NO idea where I’m going with my thoughts. 

So I’ll just get to the point.

Here’s my mantra: Take 20 minutes and workout. Doing it on your lunch. Do it while your child plays on the floor. Do it while your baby naps. Do it after dinner. Do it. And stop being annoying (that’s me talking to me. Not me talking to you).

Now, when I commit to the 20 minutes, I’m also trying to use this time wisely. Not make it a crappy 20-minute workout. Besides, I have to find some way to justify having three pieces of garlic bread with dinner.

Here’s how I’ve been trying to sneak in my 20-minute workouts to help drop my mom bum:

-Jillian Michaels. She’s the devil, but I can’t stop staring at her abs. I bought her 30-Day Shred DVD at Giant Tiger two years ago for $6. It takes 20 minutes to complete. I put it on BEFORE I put Alex down for his morning nap. Then, I have it ready to go once he’s down.

-Circuits. Here’s the circuit I did today:

(I changed step ups for skater legs. I used a 15-lb dumbbell for the kettlebell swings. I also died. Twice.)

-Power Run. Toby taught me this, and I love this concept. Just commit to running a 3-km route. But run hard. Don’t waste time and use the 20 minutes to your best ability. Sprint between telephone poles rotating with a recovery jog. Or do a negative split, which means you run faster for the second half of the run. You’ll be sweaty. Je promis.

-Sweat on the Treadmill. If you don’t want to sweat in public, sweat in private (that sounded weird). Here’s another workout I recently completed:

-Stretching. Technically, it’s not a workout, but when you’re watching television or hanging out with your kid on the floor, stretch. They’ll laugh when you start to groan. At least Alex does just that.

 

I’m not sure if I need to do a PSA stating I’m not a registered anything. This is just my experience. If you run into a telephone pole when out for a run, I can’t be held responsible.

*

How do you sneak in your workouts?

 

Leave a Reply

