Get it Done/Git ‘Er Done

Fun fact: babies make you tired!

Over the past seven months, I’ve been excited to return to running and working out. I missed having that outlet while pregnant, so I have been super keen to return to the gym and get my butt in gear.

Note: super keen.

Note: super not reality.

I’ve been in this boot camp class for almost five years, and I love everything about it. I run hard, I get to socialize and I can justify eating an entire bag of Reese’s Pieces.

Although our baby, Alex, has been good with his sleeping habits, he hasn’t been consistent. Which, in turn, means I haven’t been consistent at showing up for the 5:55 a.m. boot camp classes. The intention is always there the night before, but by the time my alarm goes off at 5:25 a.m., I’m quick to justify why I should turn off the alarm and stay under the covers. He’s up in the night, I’m tired and have to work that day. There are enough excuses to get me to at least 11 a.m.

But good intentions and half-assed excuses don’t get me in shape (another fun fact!).

Finally, this past weekend, I threw on my running shoes (well, I put them on my feet and laced them up – you can’t really throw on shoes. Unless you’re Astro Boy.), and headed out for fast four-km run. When I got back, the boys were all napping, so I continued my workout with a circuit.

It took less than an hour, I felt great and my energy was up. After the workout, I came to the realization that I need to just Get it Done. So if boot camp isn’t working with my sleeping schedule, Get it Done another way and time (you may also refer to it as Git ‘Er Done).

I work at the local college, so it was good timing that the Students’ Association was offering faculty/staff a free gym membership for the rest of the summer.

I went in yesterday and this is what I saw:

Umm...Pardon?

Umm…Pardon?

It’s honestly like having my own personal gym. It’s brand-new equipment and because it’s summer, it’s quiet. I worked out on my own and Got it Done/G’ED.

I didn’t take a selfie at the gym, but I’m pretty sure this is how I looked after the workout:

Source: PB Fingers

Actually, this is blogger, PB Fingers, and she has some great circuit workouts. I did the following workout on the weekend:

I died. Twice.

I’m still tired from Alex’s nighttime parties, but I need to find this time for me to feel energized and half normal.

Now pass me those Reese’s.

*

How do you Git ‘Er Done?

Does Astro Boy kind of freak you out, too?

4 thoughts on “Get it Done/Git ‘Er Done

  1. Hey Cathy, I can totally relate to this entry – not a morning person, and I already get up at 5:30am for work, so AM workouts are definitely not in the cards for me. I was in the habit of working out 4-5 days/week because I made it part of my routine to stop at the gym on my way home. Recently, I moved to the Beaches neighbourhood of TO, and I thought “Brilliant! I’ll run along the Lake every day after work!”…
    But instead, I would get home, grab a snack and hit the couch. So I recently admitted defeat and started going back to the gym so that when I get home and veg out, I can do so with slightly less guilt! Simple And that’s how I’ve been gittin’ ‘er done, Cathy! 🙂
    Love your blog!

  2. Hi Kathy…we are missing you at Boot Camp but very much understand that those mornings can be difficult. Awesome that you have taken the initiative to get out on your own! I hope we’ll see you back sometime when things settle down.
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

