Easy Meal Ideas when Staying-At-Homing: ‘What do you mean you don’t get anything done all day?!’

The other night I spent 45 minutes cleaning up our living room and kitchen. The floors were mopped. The dishes were cleaned. The Diaper Genie was emptied. There’s nothing I love more than a clean house that doesn’t smell like poop.

So when I examined the same space the next morning, it looked like a bomb just went off. Receiving blankets were all over the floor, my husband’s socks were ‘resting’ on the couch and my coffee mug stained the top of the coffee table. How the eff does that happen?

DSC_0544DSC_0545

I had initially thought that when off with the baby, I’d be wearing an apron and high heels cooking fabulous dinners and greeting my husband at the door with a drink. Call me Betty Draper. Instead, my hair is disgusting, I have baby vomit on my shoulder and I try really hard to not hand the baby to my husband when he walks through the door.

I completely understand the term: You get nothing accomplished all day when at home with the baby.

I had to re-evaluate my daily goals. Here they are:

  1. Shower
  2. Ensure baby’s survival
  3. Try not to yell at the dog
  4. Make Dinner
These are the photos I tried to take while holding Alex. Finally, I muttered: they'll get the point

These are the photos I tried to take while holding Alex. Finally, I muttered: they’ll get the point

Simplicity is key. So here are some recipes that I’ve found have become simple staples in our home at dinnertime:

Fit In Heels Vegetarian Curry

Slow Cooker Baked Pork Chops 

You’ll need:

  • 6-8 pork chops
  • canola oil
  • 1 10-oz can cream of chicken soup
  • 3 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 onion, chopped

Instructions:

  • brown pork chops in a little oil in skillet and season with salt and pepper
  • place pork chops in sprayed slow cooker
  • combine soup, ketchup, Worcestershire and onion in bowl and pour over pork chops
  • Cover and cook on LOW for 5-6 hours.

 

Curry Chicken with Fresh Pineapple

You’ll Need:

  • 300 g skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp red curry paste
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 pineapple, cut into 1/2 inch chunks (I found we could have just used half a pineapple – I bought the grocery store’s pre-cut pineapple to save time)
  • strips of red pepper
  • 2.5 cups freshly steamed rice

Instructions:

  1. Slice the chicken into strips.
  2. Heat 1 cup of coconut milk in a wok or large frying pan on high heat until it boils. Add red curry and stir-fry to dissolve 1-2 minutes. Add lime juice and fish sauce. Immediately add chicken and sugar and stir-fry for 2 minutes, until chicken is springy. Add pineapple and stir-fry another 2 minutes. Add remaining coconut milk and cook for another 2-3 minutes.
  3. Serve over rice and top with red pepper.

 

*

What are your go-to meals?

 

One thought on “Easy Meal Ideas when Staying-At-Homing: ‘What do you mean you don’t get anything done all day?!’

  1. Pingback: Giving Marriage Advice: Leading a Marriage Prep Weekend | The James' on Jessie

Leave a Reply

